New School Year!

Leavin' the beach; time for school
Leavin' the beach; time for school

Don’t you love new beginnings?  I think that’s one of the things that makes teaching so attractive to me.  New students, new year, new books (or there would be if the order hadn’t been lost…ah well).

First on my agenda is designing my reading program for this particular class as I get to know them.  Usually I have some time as we work through the routines of reading workshop and build up reading stamina again.  But these guys settled right in to workshop routines as if the summer had never happened.  I mean the FIRST day.  I stretched it out a week so I could get running records done, but I’m starting right away with Dr. Goodreader which this year I’m going to meld with the2sisters Daily Cafe.  Dr. Goodreader is aimed at self-monitoring, and the Daily Cafe goes beyond to accuracy, fluency, and vocabulary.  I’ll let you know how it works.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *