Write Arounds

1We’ve been doing a lot of written conversations in class.  The other day we did one as one way of coming up with ideas for essays.  It really worked quite well.  We used the stem:  This makes me think…

Here’s one on books that made me smile:

  • This makes me think that people use books to find things to explore also to write in.  Books are good friends when you don’t have anything else to do.
  • This makes me think how you can read them when you’re bored and on trips.  They’re funny, scared, etc.
  • This makes me think that they’re a great resource when you’re in trouble.
  • This makes me think of how when kids are going to sleep they always ask their mom to read them a book and they get to sleep almost at the end of the book.

We’ve since decided to do essays and then TED talks, so we’re going to be working on our non-fiction reading skills.

photo &copy; <A HREF=http://mike.openphoto.net>Michael Jastremski</A>
for <A HREF=http://22879.openphoto.net>openphoto.net</A> CC:Attribution-ShareAlike

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *