New Year’s Resolution

photo_10971_20091227Of course, most of you reading this realize that teachers celebrate New Years at the beginning of the school year.  When we say last year we don’t mean, say, 2009.  We mean 2009-2010.

I want to make a public New Year’s resolution:  more support for parents in my reading program.  My husband is from a huge family and as we traveled around this summer I talked with nieces, nephews, grandchildren, and their parents about  summer reading.

One of my sister-in-laws was frustrated because her children could choose any realistic fiction book to read.  Now, as a teacher I love the idea of student choice, but I understand this mother’s frustration.  “It doesn’t say realistic fiction on the book.  How am I supposed to know?”

Besides genre support, I want to have a workshop for parents about Dr. Goodreader and another about using reading strategies with your children.

OK.  I’ve done it.  I’ve committed myself.  I’ll keep you posted.  What are your New Year’s resolutions??

Photo by graur razvan ionut

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *